//
you're reading...
The Blog Seat

The Blog Seat #1 Pradita Kapahi

Pradita Kapahi-Pradita’s Chronicles

Blog_Seat.jpg
This is the first in what I hope will be a series of interviews with outstanding Bloggers, people we follow and read regularly, and people who have “something to say” and thepraditachronicles is a blog with articles, stories, poems, opinions and issues all of which entertain us and make us think. Pradita deserves to be first in our new series, please take a look at her blog ….. address below.
 

Pradita

1.Tell us a little about yourself, your name, where you live, where you grew up, your job/profession

 
First of all, thank you so much for  having me on your ‘Blog Seat’. I am way too young (if I may dare) and inexperienced a blogger to have this honour, but I’m very, very grateful for the same. 
I am Pradita Kapahi, known to the people of WordPress as the author of thepraditachronicles.com; known to my family as Eva (my father thought that Hitler’s lady friend had a very beautiful name, so that’s what they call me on my Father’s side). 
I was born in New Delhi though now I stay in Pune because of my husband. But my family comes from the mountains of the Himalayas, and whatever part of my growing up years I’ve spent there, were my best. That’s why I’ll always be a ‘Pahadi’ girl.
By qualification I am a lawyer, but I only practiced for a very short time. Even though I like Law as a subject, as a profession it has stopped appealing to me. I now work as a freelance-writer and dabble in blogging.
 

2.Describe your blog to us, its “nature/character”, main categories of post, how often you post

 
My blog is EVERYTHING that’s me…. my love for writing, for poetry, for social causes, for what I feel is important in life… in short what I write about are my opinions and experiences of life. I started it because I wanted to write my stories somewhere that people would be able to give me an honest feedback on them. It’s become much more than that now. It’s like a vital organ for me, I can’t do without it and it’s been so cathartic for me. 
So if you go to my blog, you’ll find a little bit of everything really – stories, poetry, art, a rant or two and my opinions on social causes. I’m famous, or rather infamous for writing long posts, so be prepared to be bored. I try to be regular with my posts, so on good days, you’ll find at least one post everyday. But on busy days, you may find only two per week. 
 

3.Why do you blog, when did you start, what is your regular inspiration for blogging 

 
Like I said before, I started blogging because I had always wanted to write stories, but I had no way of knowing if I had it in me to be a writer. Also, when I started the blog, I was at a point in my life when I was giving away too much of myself to others and not being able to be ‘me’. I was a Mother, a Wife, A Daughter-in-law, and though I still love being all that, what made me ‘me’ was getting swamped by all my roles and responsibilities. That’s why this blog became a lifeline – the stories I wrote have quite a lot of me, or my experiences in them, and more importantly, the love and support I got from the blogging community was overwhelming. Simply put – I can’t do without my Community anymore.
I now have the confidence to acknowledge that I am a budding writer and a poet. Even if everything else fails me in life, I know my gift for words won’t. 
As for what tempts me to post, like I said before, my blog is everything that’s me. So I have to just have a spark, ANYTHING that inspires me, and I’ll start writing. Anything that pinches me, or makes me happy, will be reflected in what I’m writing about. Of late, it’s been increasingly about Women matters, specially Female Education, which I feel is being neglected in my country, India. But I’m not a Feminist. I support men in certain things, and I feel that today Men sometimes are unfairly treated for the behavior of their ancestors towards women, which is just wrong. I support equality of opportunity, not blind equality, and that’s what I have been talking about on my blog of late. 
 

4.What is your favourite category of post and why

 
My favourite category of post is, naturally, stories. I have been a dreamer and a story-maker since I was very young. I can turn anything into a story, really! Fiction was my favourite place to be… still is, because we can travel to places we’ve never been to, we can be things that we know we can’t be, and we can experience things by proxy. It’s magical what words, illustrations can do to your imagination, and in my case, to your self-esteem. I love how stories can bring you pain, happiness, a message, a lesson, a vision.. it can morph into so many things. No form of writing, save poetry maybe, can move you like stories can… so that even though you’re disconnected from the story, it is possible for you to become entrenched in one. Effective storytelling is a very powerful thing. No wonder Bards had so much influence!
 
 

5.What is the best post you have ever written and why

 
I think it may have been the post on female education where I lament how well educated women in India are still not allowed to work. It’s my favourite because I’ve been through the same. It took me a long time and a lot of will to find a circuitous way to work that worked for my family. But there are a lot of women out there who are unable to get their families’ support and so, have to give up on a career altogether. To many of us Indian women, education, thanks to our antiquated and pseudo-modernist ways, has become a badge that proclaims ‘we are marriage material’, and it hurts to see that even though our Constitution and our Laws give us equality, it’s only on paper, because every time a woman tries to be a career woman, she will simultaneously be branded as a ‘bad mother/wife’ or a ‘home-wrecker’. So there is really no choice for us but to leave our education behind and be whatever it is our husband’s families want us to be.
The reader response was great and what was really heartening was that there were an equal number of men who supported true female education and working women, and of course, women too. Some of them went to the extent of saying that they’ll never let their own wives/partners go through it. So it was encouraging that at least a lot of the younger, educated people in the country truly believe in female education and equality of opportunity.
 
 

6.Which three blogs do you like the most and why (Or two or one if you haven’t got three)

 
That is a very tough question because there are so many that I like and admire. It’s like asking ‘which is your favorite book’, which is my case is a very, very, very tough question!
The Two Doctors, is one of my favourites. I’ve come to respect and admire their selfless work towards education in Nepal, their dogged belief that education is a prerequisite to a ‘livable’ life. That’s one notion I support whole-heartedly because I believe an Educated world is a better place to live in, and that an Educated Person is a resourceful person. If you’ve been educated, and I’m not talking about school or college education only, nothing can pull you down. You may face adversity in life, but you’ll find a way to flourish. 
 

7.What have you learned from your blog writing (Apart from the mechanics of blogging and managing a site, has blogging changed you in any way)

 
I think I’ve already answered that in the above questions, but in short, self-esteem, the power of storytelling and the power of criticism is what I have truly understood from blogging. It has changed me in so many ways, made me stronger, better and calmer.
 
 

8.What advice would you give to any new bloggers

 
My top advice is always ‘follow the 3 C’s’
Content – Should be strong and true to your beliefs. Don’t fib!
Consistency – Keep it regular, there shouldn’t be too wide a gap between two posts, yet you should not swamp the reader with too many. Remember the first C.
Contact – Stay true to your readers, respect and respond to them, and network as much as you can.
 
 

9.Anything else you would like to say or share with the blogosphere 

 
Apart from ‘please visit thepraditachronicles.com’ ๐Ÿ˜‰ , I’d like to say – We, as bloggers, have a responsibility to the people for writing what we truly believe in. Do not ever let that belief and trust be broken. 
 
Discussion

15 thoughts on “The Blog Seat #1 Pradita Kapahi

  1. Wow.. that was so good to read about you.
    And hey, I am so happy to know that you are in Pune and I am a Puneite too. Hope you are loving this city.. Lets catch up some time..

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by mylittlepursuitsofhappyness | May 5, 2017, 05:52
  2. A lovely interview of the lawyer Pradita who loves to turn anything into fiction. It’s like you’ve opened your world to readers and love this powerful quote, ‘ I was at a point in my life when I was giving away too much of myself to others and not being able to be โ€˜meโ€™.’

    We live in such a sad world where women rights are not respected and trampled upon. Infanticide is another issue that plagues the world. Keep writing and believing, Pradita:)

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by vishalbheeroo | April 30, 2017, 15:01
    • Yes Vishal you are right about the lack of respect for women’s rights. I have written many times about the utterly ridiculous feminist movement in the West especially in USA and UK who protest about stupid irrelevant comments from Donald Trump, but won’t protest about girl trafficking, forced marriages, Islamic suppression of women, FGM. They are total hypocrites.

      Like

      Posted by Dr B | April 30, 2017, 15:06
      • I agree with you. It’s a good thing to protest against the likes of Trump who are dangerous to the world with such hatred. But it’s also true that lack of respect for women and trafficking are serious issues. It’s one of the causes that I support. Do read the cover story by outlook on girls’ trafficking. It’s insightful.

        Liked by 1 person

        Posted by vishalbheeroo | April 30, 2017, 15:09
  3. Reblogged this on The Pradita Chronicles and commented:
    My dear blogger friends, Dr. B. and Dr. C. have honoured me greatly by choosing me to be the first on thier โ€˜Blog Seatโ€™ series. I canโ€™t be thankful enough to these two for the constant encouragement, support, constructive criticism and direction they have been providing me from time to time.

    This interview contains mostly stuff you all know about me. But if there is something that you donโ€™t know about why I started blogging, what I and my blog are about and what inspires me to blog, head over to The Two Doctorโ€™s website.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Pradita Kapahi | April 29, 2017, 18:38
  4. My dear blogger friends, Dr. B. and Dr. C. have honoured me greatly by choosing me to be the first on thier ‘Blog Seat’ series. I can’t be thankful enough to these two for the constant encouragement, support, constructive criticism and direction they have been providing me from time to time.

    This interview contains mostly stuff you all know about me. But if there is something that you don’t know about why I started blogging, what I and my blog are about and what inspires me to blog, head over to The Two Doctor’s website.

    Like

    Posted by Pradita Kapahi | April 29, 2017, 18:38
  5. Good Stuff. Some is often repeated blogging advice but there is some new advice in there which is worth taking account of!

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Andrew Petcher | April 29, 2017, 18:23
  6. Thanks a lot Dr. B. This was truly an honour. And it’s come at a good time as I get ready for Fone Free Day starting midnight. Thanks for the opportunity. Hope your trip’s going well ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Pradita Kapahi | April 29, 2017, 18:23

Leave a comment

Follow Tales of Mindful Travel on WordPress.com

Join 156 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

